Waynesville Parks and Recreation Department 550 Vance Street Waynesville, NC 28786



Phone: 828.456.2030 Fax: 828.456.2034 Website: waynesvillenc.gov

This institution is an equal opportunity provider.

## "Nationally Accredited"

## **ADVISORY COMMISSION MEETING**

March 18, 2024 5:30 PM

## MINUTES

In attendance were Eva Hansen, Mandy Giust, Megan Hauser, Chad Carver, Landen Stevenson, Nate Webster Absent: Jon Sears, David Hyder, Mark Tongen

Luke Kinsland, Director, staffed the meeting.

Call to Order: Luke called the meeting to order at 5:38pm

Minutes: Megan motioned the February minutes be amended to reflect Chad's attendance as submitted and Chad seconded the motion.

## Old Business:

• Luke shared the current budget status in expenditures and revenue. The department currently has made \$294,000 in the fiscal year to date.

New Business/Director's Report:

- Eva and Kiwanis have applied for the Medford Grant for \$18,000 to establish seed funds in improving East St Park. Most of the improvements will include building improvements and resurfacing the basketball court. We will continue to meet with the Boy Scouts and other volunteers for in-kind labor and materials.
- Discussion was had about a capital fund campaign centered around the Recreation Center's 25<sup>th</sup> anniversary. We will continue to discuss this throughout the year.
- Luke shared updates for projects. Bids were collected for the greenway trail project and the low bid contractor, Dan Grady Co, will be recommended at the next council meeting. Sulphur Springs Park received much needed upgrades from the Town in terms of drainage and a new culvert. Luke and Tim, Fitness Supervisor, will be writing a grant to the Haywood Health Foundation to request funds for the new cardio equipment that is needed.

Other Business/Chair's Comments:

Nate and Landon both discussed spring rec sports and to investigate new opportunities in leagues.

There being no further business the meeting was adjourned at 7:05pm

Chair's signature\_\_\_\_\_

Respectfully Submitted, Eva Hansen, Chairman